Former state Sen. Dr. Trudy Wade has been nominated by the North Carolina Republican Party for one of the two vacant seats on the North Carolina State Board of Elections.

The NC GOP nominated six people for the two open seats and Gov. Roy Cooper will pick two to serve on the State Board of Elections following the resignations of the two Republican members of the five-member board.

Wade served in the North Carolina state Senate from 2012 to 2018. When elected to the state Senate she was a member of the Greensboro City Council representing District 5. Wade also served on the Guilford County Board of Commissioners from 2000 to 2006.

Wade knows something about election law because, in 2004, after being announced the winner on election night, additional provisional ballots were found by the elections office that gave her opponent, John Parks, the majority.

Wade sued over those provisional ballots and hundreds were thrown out by the courts. The final decision on the race was not made in Parks favor until May 2006.

The two Republican seats on the board are open because both Republican members of the State Board of Elections resigned after a settlement agreement was announced regarding absentee ballots. The Republican members, David Black and Ken Raymond, who both voted for the agreement, said they had been deceived about the details of that agreement.

The agreement would allow counties to use drop boxes to collect absentee ballots rather than requiring them to be received at the elections office where the person dropping the ballot off is required to have their name recorded by the elections office. The settlement agreement also allows ballots without the proper witness signature to be counted if the voter signs an affidavit, and it extends the amount of time an absentee ballot can arrive at the elections office and still be counted to nine days after Election Day.

Along with Wade, the state Republican Party nominated Tommy Tucker and Dr. Donald Robert Van der Vaart for Raymond’s seat.

The state GOP nominated Jeanette Kathleen Doran, Stacy “Four” Clyde Eggers IV and James “Carr” Carlton McLamb Jr. for the seat vacated by Black.