Filing for the July 26 City Council election closed Friday, March 4 at noon, so voters finally know who is and isn’t running for City Council in what should have been the 2021 election.

The primary for the City Council election will be held on Tuesday, May 17 along with the statewide primary, and all the City Council races except the District 4 race will have primaries.

City Council elections are nonpartisan, which means in the mayoral and district races the top two finishers in the May 17 primary face each other in the July 26 general election regardless of party affiliation.  In the at-large City Council race, the top six finishers in the primary regardless of party affiliation run in the general election where the top three are elected to the City Council.

Four candidates have filed to run in the mayoral race: Mayor Nancy Vaughan, District 3 Councilmember Justin Outling, Eric Robert and Mark Timothy Cummings.

Ten candidates filed to run in the at-large City Council race, including the three incumbents: City Councilmembers Yvonne Johnson, Marikay Abuzuaiter and Hugh Holston.  Also filing to run in the at-large race are Katie Rossabi, Linda Wilson, Tracy Furman, Taffy L. Buchanan, Fanca Jalloh, Dustin Keene and Melodi Fentress.

District 1 City Councilmember Sharon Hightower filed to run for reelection. Also filing to run in District 1 were Felton Foushee and Timothy Kirkpatrick.

District 2 City Councilmember Goldie Wells filed to run for reelection. Portia Shipman, Latoya Bernice Gathers and Cecile (CC) Crawford also filed to run in District 2.

District 3 has no incumbent in the race since Outling is running for mayor.  The District 3 City Council candidates are Chip Roth, former District 3 City Councilmember Zack Matheny and Bill Marshburn.

District 5 City Councilmember Tammi Thurm filed to run for reelection. Former District 5 City Councilmember Tony Wilkins and Robert Bodenhamer also filed to run for the District 5 seat.

In District 4 there is no primary on May 17, but in the general election on July 26 District 4 City Councilmember Nancy Hoffmann will face Thurston Reeder.