The North Carolina General Assembly met the deadline imposed by the North Carolina Supreme Court and approved new congressional and state legislative district maps on Thursday, Feb. 17.

The deadline was Friday.  The state House maps had bipartisan support in the legislature.  However, both the state Senate district map and the congressional district map passed along party line votes.

According to the Republican leadership, the congressional district map now has six Republican districts, four Democratic districts and four toss-up districts.

One of the four toss-ups is the 6th District, which includes most of Greensboro and the majority of Guilford County.  The current 6th District, which is represented by first term Congresswoman Kathy Manning, includes all of Guilford County and a portion of Forsyth County.  It is a heavily Democratic district.

The new 6th District, which has been passed by the legislature but not yet approved by the courts, is considered a toss-up that leans Republican.  Along with the majority of Guilford County, the new 6th District includes the southeast corner of Rockingham County, southern Alamance County and Randolph, Chatham, Lee and Harnett counties.

It does put Greensboro in the same congressional district as the Greensboro-Randolph Megasite, which is entirely in Randolph County.

The western portion of Guilford County is in the 8th Congressional District, which includes most of Davidson County, almost all of Rowan County and Cabarrus County.

The 8th Congressional District is considered a Republican district.

Chairman of the Senate Redistricting Committee Sen. Paul Newton (R-Cabarrus) said in a press release, “At the beginning of this process, we were told Democrats wanted competitive maps. We honored that request even though it was clear they would vote against the maps. Given the circumstances, we’ve been able to introduce maps that are constitutionally compliant and respond well to the court-ordered mandated tests. Now North Carolina will be home to some of the most competitive congressional races in the nation.”