It isn’t definite, but the odds that the statewide primary election including the Greensboro City Council primary will be held on Tuesday, May 17 have increased.

Gov. Roy Cooper, as expected, vetoed a bill passed by the state legislature that moved the date of the primary from Tuesday, May 17, set by the North Carolina Supreme Court, to Tuesday, June 7.

The bill to postpone the primary to June 7 passed the legislature with only Republican votes, so it was no surprise that Cooper vetoed it, and Republicans alone don’t have enough votes to override Cooper’s veto.

On Dec. 8, 2021, the NC Supreme Court suspended filing for the 2022 elections and postponed the primary from March 8 to May 17, in order to give the courts time to consider the constitutional challenges to the congressional and state legislative districts drawn by the Republican controlled legislature.  A panel of three Superior Court judges found the districts to be constitutional, but that ruling was appealed to the NC Supreme Court.

Because the NC Supreme Court has a 4-to-3 Democratic majority, it is widely believed that the NC Supreme Court will vote along party-lines and find the redistricting maps drawn by the Republican legislature unconstitutional.

One of the reasons legislative leaders gave for delaying the primary to June 7 was to give the legislature more time to redraw the districts and have them approved by the NC Supreme Court, if the court ruled that the original districts were unconstitutional.

However, the NC Supreme Court could delay the primary again, if the court finds there isn’t sufficient time to redraw the districts, so it’s not a done deal.

If the May 17 primary holds, filing to run for office including to run for the Greensboro City Council will resume at 8 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 24 and close at noon on Friday, March 4.

The Greensboro City Council general election will be held on the date of the runoff primary, which may be held on either Tuesday, July 5 or Tuesday, July 26, depending on whether there is a runoff primary in any of the 14 congressional districts or in the statewide US Senate race.