In a new twist to Guilford County Board of Education elections, five candidates have announced they are running as a team.

The members of the Guilford County Board of Education, like the Guilford County Board of Commissioners, serve staggered terms.  In 2022, five of the nine seats are up for election and the five-member team has a candidate for each open seat.

Of the five, only District 4 Guilford Count Board of Education member Linda Welborn is an incumbent. Welborn has been serving on the school board since she was first elected in 2012.

The other members of the team are District 2 school board candidate Crissy Pratt, District 6 school board candidate Tim Andrew, District 8 school board candidate Robert Millican, and at-large school board candidate Demetria Carter.

The five-member team has been endorsed by Take Back Our Schools-GCS, a non-profit organization of parents and community members supporting strong learning environments and safe schools for all.

According to the press release, “These candidates champion a new vision and a new direction for the school system.  Their focus is a return to the fundamentals of educating our children, empowering parents, supporting teachers and staff, ensuring student success and security, and promoting financial accountability.  Each candidate brings a varied experience that would make the team as whole a valuable addition to the Board.”

Of the five, only Andrew and Pratt had filed before filing was suspended by the North Carolina Supreme Court on Wednesday, Dec. 8.  No date has been set for filing to reopen.

The NC Supreme Court also delayed the 2022 primary from Tuesday, March 8 to Tuesday, May 17, in order to hear lawsuits challenging the newly drawn districts for the North Carolina state legislature and Congress.

The NC Supreme Court even delayed races like those for the Guilford County Board of Education, the Guilford County Board of Commissioners and the Greensboro City Council, which will not be affected by the outcome of the lawsuits.

So far, the general election is still scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022.